• The Bell Tree Fair 2024's closing ceremony is finally here! Event results, TBTer drawings, collectible reveal, quiz answers, art, stories, raffles, and more. You can find the six-part thread in the Bulletin Board! Thank you, everyone, for making our TBT birthday celebration so special!

Traditional artist needing help from digital artists!

Katzenjammer

♫Cat that Jams♫
Bells
Tickets
Throwback Tickets
Confetti
I have everything I need to do digital art, however, I am not good at picking up how to use features like layers (which is what I need to use most) and various other thingsk despite having looked up various youtube tutorials and tips on it. I'm the type that needs a slow step by step list to check off to be sure I'm doing it right with this kind of thing, and learn best by having someone show me things in real life.

I am using:
- Bamboo tablet
- FireAlpaca (free version)

Any help or anything at all anyone has found helpful on youtube that are step by step or for dummies (lol) would be ideal. Please feel free to share and don't be afraid of sounding condescending or anything because I am a total n00b with digital art and am admittedly ignorant of a lot of things many people already know. Thank you for your patience with me in advance :)

A lot of digital art programs are very similar. I'm using Krita but I come with photoshop experience and a lot of it is similar.

The best advice I have is to just play around with it and explore each feature one by one. Just make something small. You are going to make a lot of mistakes but I bet you made a lot of them too when you first started with traditional art.

I also use Krita 😅 , but some things I always use are preserve opacity and alpha lock. Layer types can do fun things and I mostly use multiply for shadows and overlay for lighting.

Same as Sharksheep, messing around is the best way to learn. Also press things on your keyboard and see what they do, since there's probably a good number of shortcuts on there.