• The Bell Tree Fair 2024's closing ceremony is finally here! Event results, TBTer drawings, collectible reveal, quiz answers, art, stories, raffles, and more. You can find the six-part thread in the Bulletin Board! Thank you, everyone, for making our TBT birthday celebration so special!

Am debating whether to get the Japanese XL or American...

Wish

my name is an bye
Bells
Tickets
Throwback Tickets
Confetti
Switch
3643-9093-2134
Winter Mittens
Cake
Yellow Candy
Orange (Fruit)
Pear (Fruit)
Well recently it was announced that the XL will be coming to America... but now that I think about it, I am not sure if I should get the Japanese or American.

Perks of having japanese:
Access to exclusive eshop
and yeah that's all I can think of LOL

not sure if that is worth a hundred extra dollar though.
I am currently studying japanese so I felt like it would be nice for me to have a Japanese console too but what do you guys think?

It depends on how well you know yourself. Are you sincerely going to try your best to painstakingly translate words the villagers are saying? Or after a while will that get frustrating and you'll skip conversations, and end up wishing you understood the language to really get the most out of the game.
I also contemplated getting a Japanese system because I'm learning the language too! And if you have the drive, I'd say get one, but I'm going to get American because I want to fully enjoy the game and learn Japanese on the side at my own pace.

We need to exchange friend codes. You just seem like someone I'd really enjoy playing AC:NL with.

Ah thank you :)

My little 8 year old sister is getting the American version so I'm sure that will help a bit...

My sister has a 3DS and I have a normal one too. But I am going to sell my current one regardless on eBay :p