• The Bell Tree Fair 2024's closing ceremony is finally here! Event results, TBTer drawings, collectible reveal, quiz answers, art, stories, raffles, and more. You can find the six-part thread in the Bulletin Board! Thank you, everyone, for making our TBT birthday celebration so special!

Least favorite storytelling and writing tropes?

Chronos314_XD

Most Likely to Die First in a Horror Movie
Bells
Tickets
Throwback Tickets
Confetti
(keep I mind I'm not a professional writer or anything but I just wanted to see others people's opinions)

1. Intentionally having a character do something out of character and horrible just to have a specific outcome in the story (example: finn messing up his relationship with flame princess in adventure time because of his weird dreams).

2. Punching bag characters, I think they can be funny but I feel like some writers go too far to the point where it makes me hate most of the characters for how they treat the punching bag.

That's just a couple of examples I have.

Last edited:
Meaningless deaths just for shock value. This is probably my #1 least favorite. I understand if the work is just trying to be action-filled and/or not take itself too seriously, but it gets a bit tiring seeing a character killed off just because the author wanted readers to be surprised or they didn't feel like continuing to write said character in story. I wish more authors would give more meaning to their character deaths so that it enhances the overall work, but sadly that doesn't happen a lot.