• The Bell Tree Fair 2024's closing ceremony is finally here! Event results, TBTer drawings, collectible reveal, quiz answers, art, stories, raffles, and more. You can find the six-part thread in the Bulletin Board! Thank you, everyone, for making our TBT birthday celebration so special!

Is the 3DS XL a must for playing Animal Crossing?

Which 3DS should I buy?

• You should buy a normal 3DS

Votes: 25 43.9%
  • You should totally buy a 3DS XL

Votes: 32 56.1%

• Total voters

Lamues

Bells
Tickets
Throwback Tickets
Confetti
Mailbox
Small Mailbox
Cake
Hi everybody,

I'm a student and not surprisingly I'm kinda strapped for cash...
But now with AC:NL coming up I really want to buy a 3DS, a second hand 3DS.
I've been searching around and I can state that I'll be able to buy a normal 3DS for only €80-€90 and that a 3DS XL will cost me about €130-€140.
Now my question to all of you is: Is the 3DS XL worth its extra money (when it comes to Animal Crossing)? Can anyone who has seen both devices in action tell me how big of a difference it is? (I have never held a 3DS (XL) in my hands.)
I won't be using the 3D-effect on a daily basis, I know that works better with the 3DS XL.

Thank you in advance for thinking with me! :)

Last edited:
I have both a 3DS and a 3DSXL, but only play AC on my 3DS (as my xl is NA and other Japanese)... I have no problem with the 3DS, if anything I like it more as I was able to strap a battery pack life extender to the back of it and can play about 5-9 hours without needing a charge with wifi on. I don't think they have the battery pack life extenders for the XL yet...

As to the 3D effect: I can't see 3D because of an eye problem (my eyes don't team or work together, otherwise I have a very, very dominant eye and the other eye is just along for the ride. I think most people discover this when they go to see a 3D movie and can't see any difference from a normal movie.) Anyway: so to that I can lend you no assistance.